St. Mary's was recycling long before it became popular. Back in 1919 a handful of devout Episcopalians raised $2500 to purchase an old house and transformed it into what is now St. Mary of the Harbor. Shortly afterwards the old Sand Bar Club located on the west end of Provincetown was purchased, disassembled, moved and attached to the church to form the present space where the altar and choir are located.
From the beginning artists played an important role in the life of the church. Works by Frederick Waugh, Richard Miller, William Boogar, Peter Hunt, Constance Bigelow, Robert Douglas Hunter, and Arnold Geissbuhler are prominently displayed throughout the church.
In 1933 the mission church called the Reverend Robert Wood Nicholson to be the first Vicar of St. Mary’s. During his tenure the little church by the sea flourished and was transformed into artistic feast. An avid gardener, Fr. Nicholson personally did much of the work to create the churchyard that has become an oasis for parishioners and visitors to Provincetown.
St. Mary’s has grown to become a vibrant, inspirited, diverse, and welcoming community. As Jesus’ disciples we celebrate God’s graciousness and invite you to experience the abundant and unconditional love of God in Christ where the land, the sea, and the sacred meet.